About AHS

Board of Directors

The Associated Hebrew Schools Board of Directors is comprised of a group of committed volunteers who are dedicated to upholding Associated’s mission, values, and vision, and responsible for overseeing the strategic leadership of the School and the effective stewardship of its resources. The Board includes current parents, past parents, alumni, and community members. Members of the Board devote their time and resources to the School's advancement and best interests. 

Executive Members

President: Jonathan Halpern (email)
Past-President: Shawn Goldberg
Vice-President: Elliot Marer
Treasurer: Jonathan Yoken
Secretary: Maya Roth
Member-at-Large: Elaine Osher

Board Members

Jill Charnaw Henry Koschitzky Mark Siboni
Darrell Cordes Naomi Mansell Steven Smith
Howard Gangbar Daniella Samuel Brenda Weitzner
Stephanie Greenwald Rachel Scherzer Effie Wolle

List of 3 items.

  • Board Committees

    The standing committees of the Board of Directors and their subcommittees oversee specific Board responsibilities described below. If you are interested in learning more about serving on a committee, please email communications@ahschools.com.

    Committee on Directors

    The Committee on Directors (COD) coordinates the identification, cultivation, recruitment, and orientation of new directors and oversees the governance and nominations process for both board and sub-committees, and provides ongoing board education.


    The Development Committee develops and coordinates the fundraising initiatives of the Board of Directors, including: annual campaign, endowments and major gifts. It also oversees the identification, cultivation, and stewardship of donors.

    The Finance Committee monitors all financial information of Associated including budgets, financial statements, and tuition fee recommendations. 

    Head Support and Evaluation
    The Head Support and Evaluation Committee works collaboratively with the Head of School for yearly planning in accordance with the strategic plans of AHS and the Board of Directors.

    Parent Teacher Council (PTC)
    The Parent Teacher Council (PTC) raises funds for projects and activities at Associated and fosters relationships between the parent community and AHS. The PTC coordinates our in-school volunteers. 
    Tuition Assistance 
    Preserving strict confidentiality, the Tuition Assistance Committee oversees the administration of the tuition support program.
  • Board of Governors

    The Associated Hebrew Schools Board of Governors is comprised of long-standing volunteers and professionals who have made significant contributions to AHS. Many are former Board Members, Committee Members, or staff who have provided and continue to provide extraordinary leadership at AHS. They make valuable contributions to the school community by participating in fundraising activities, committee work, and annual meetings. AHS benefits greatly from their collective knowledge, dedication, and passion. The members of the Board of Governors act in a consultative role, and serve as ambassadors of AHS. We are grateful to this group of leaders who support the mission and vision of Associated.

    Past Board Presidents are denoted with an asterisk (*). 
    Chair: Sally Zigler* and Mark Zigler
    Vice-Presidents: Irving Matlow

    Board of Governors

    Arthur Landa
    Aurelia Ostro
    Barry Naiberg
    Barry Sacks
    Beth Singer
    Brian Lass
    Charles Nagel
    David Posluns
    Dr. Arthur Kruger
    Dr. Bernard Green
    Dr. Harry Krakowsky*
    Dr. Howard Langer
    Dr. Irv Feferman
    Dr. Michael Ostro
    Dr. Zev Shainhouse
    Elaine Osher*
    Ellen Markin
    Fred Guth
    George Weinberger
    Gerry Richler
    Helene Green
    Henry Koschitzky*
    Ian Zagdanski
    Israel Mida
    Jack Brudner
    Jack Rotsztain
    James Klein
    Janice Langer
    Jay Heller
    Joanne Perlmutter
    Jodi Gottesman
    Jodi Pasoff
    Judy Scheininger
    Les Scheininger*
    Lindy Goodman
    Louis Greenbaum*
    Marlene Rochwerg
    Martin Rochwerg
    Mary Bien
    Mayeer Pearl*
    Michele Michaelov
    Mira Koschitzky
    Mordechai Ben-Dat
    Prof. Michael Brown
    Rabbi Abraham Soffer
    Saul Koschitzky
    Sheldon Goodman*
    Stephen Freedhoff
    Susan Shainhouse

    Gabi Weisfeld, z"l
    John Daniels, z"l
    Julia Koschitzky, z"l
    Milton Shier, z"l
    Prof Sydney Eisen, z"l

    Departed Governors

    Zav Morton Abramson
    Irving David Boigon
    Al G. Brown
    David Wm. Brown
    Bernard S. Dales
    John H. Daniels
    Sydney Eisen
    Ab Flatt
    Joseph Garfinkel
    Bert Godfrey
    Gilbert Goodman
    Irving Goodman
    Sydney Greenstein
    Julia Edna Koschitzky
    Leonard Levine
    Morris Mlotek
    Irving Naiberg
    Wilfred Posluns
    Louis Shainhouse
    Samuel Shainhouse
    Milton Shier
    J. Richard Shiff
    Morris Harry Starkman
    Nathan Starr
    Arthur Tannenbaum
    Didi Urbach
    Gabi Weisfeld
    Henry Zagdanski
    Esther Zeppieri
  • By-laws

    By-law No. 4: The General By-law of Associated Hebrew Schools of Toronto (passed 27 October 2020 | 9 Cheshvan 5781)